Liedduo Knut Schoch – Carsten Linck
Until well into the 19th century, the "golden age" of the guitar, the song with guitar accompaniment was the most popular form of vocal music-making in the home. Innumerable compositions for this combination – not only in German – appeared at this time, true masterpieces in a virtually inexhaustible repertoire of songs. It was only from the 1830s that this position on the "popularity scale" was increasingly assumed by the piano, and the guitar song was gradually pushed into the background.

To this day the wistfulness of the guitar, its sensitivity and delicacy, still reveal a very personal and rather intimate view of the songs of love, passion and death. The listener often finds these settings of poems dealing with romantic feelings or the descriptions of nature popular at the time to be more authentic and, especially in the quieter ranges, more subtle.
The concerts given by the duo Knut Schoch and Carsten Linck, which are always received with enthusiasm by their audience on account of their freshness and intensity, demonstrate the value of reviving the treasures of the guitar song genre from this period. The programmes include both original compositions from around 1800 and authentic arrangements of works from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Schubert and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy to Johannes Brahms.
The duo's captivating concert appearances, enhanced by short descriptions of the works and composers, give an unforgettable insight into rarely heard but exciting repertoire. In addition, transcriptions such as of the song cycle "Die schöne Müllerin" by Franz Schubert provide an opportunity to discover new perspectives to old familiar works.

For these song recitals Carsten Linck plays a replica of a guitar by Johann Georg Staufer from the 19th century which has a very similar sound to a fortepiano of the period. As the guitar is played standing the player can perform in an informal narrative style, creating a very lively performance for the audience.

Knut Schoch studied with Wilfried Jochens at the Hamburg School of Music and completed his studies in various master classes held by Jill Feldman, Ian Partrige, James Wagner, and Hartmut Höll. His wide repertoire covers a range from medieval works to premiere performances of contemporary music. Besides oratorios and chamber music, a particular concern of his is devoted to baroque and classical opera (including Orfeo by C. Monteverdi, Pomona, Andonis, Janus, or Claudius by R. Keiser, L‘Europe galante by A. Campra, Entführung, Zauberflöte by W. A. Mozart, and many others).

A focus of his work is the music of before 1800 and its historically informed interpretation. He became widely known in interpreting cantatas and oratorios of Bach (Evangelist), Handel, and other composers of their time. The text-oriented work in this genre fuels also his ventures into the domain of romantic song – a genre for which he has developed a special inclination and love: examples are his collaboration in a permanent song duo with the pianist Johannes Debus on a growing number of programs ranging from Beethoven to Britten, the recording of Schubert’s ”Die schöne Müllerin” together with the guitarist Carsten Linck or his collaboration with Eckart Begemann (pianoforte) in performing Schubert’s famous song cycles.

Concert tours and performances at international festivals including the Göttingen Handel Festival, the Schleswig-Holstein Festival, the Munich Opera Festival, the Settimane Bach at Milan, the Flanders Festival, in Utrecht, Paris, Lyon, Copenhague, at the Folles Journées and the Wiener Festwochen have led Knut Schoch through all of Europe as well as to America and Asia.

Countless radio and TV appearances at various broadcasting stations in Europe and beyond reveal the broad range of his artistic activities which is also documented by more than 80 CD productions (at labels including Acanthus, Brillant Records, cpo, capriccio, Deutsche Harmonia Mundi, Naxos, Sony). Knut Schoch was a.o. a laureate of the distinguished international Concours Musica Antiqua of Bruges/Belgium in 1999.
He has collaborated with distinguished conductors including Ivor Bolton, Thomas Hengelbrock, Konrad Junghänel, Ton Koopman, Sigiswald Kuijken, Gustav Leonhardt, Herman Max, Peter Neumann, and Joshua Rifkin.

Since 1993 Knut Schoch has been teaching vocal studies at the Hamburg Conservatory and from 1999 - 2002 he was professor for vocal studies at the Hamburg School of Music.

Liedduo Knut Schoch – Carsten Linck
Das Lied mit Gitarrenbegleitung war bis weit ins 19. Jahrhundert, dem „goldenen Zeitalter“ der Gitarre, die beliebteste Form, vokal im häuslichen Rahmen zu musizieren. Zu dieser Zeit erschienen unzählige, nicht nur deutschsprachige Kompositionen für diese Besetzung, wahre Meisterwerke im schier unerschöpflichen Liedrepertoire. Erst ab den 1830er Jahren wurde dieser Rang auf der „Beliebtheitsskala“ zunehmend vom Klavier übernommen und das Gitarrenlied allmählich in den Hintergrund gedrängt.

Bis heute beleuchten das Sehnsuchtsvolle der Gitarre, ihre Zartheit und Zerbrechlichkeit die von Liebe, Leidenschaft und Tod handelnden Lieder aus einer sehr persönlichen und eher intimen Sicht. Diese Gedichtvertonungen im Zusammenhang mit etwa romantischer Empfindung oder den zur damaligen Zeit beliebten Naturbeschreibungen empfindet der Zuhörer oftmals authentischer und gerade im leiseren Bereich differenzierter.

Dass es sich lohnt die Schätze der Gattung Gitarrenlied aus diesen Jahren zu heben, zeigen die Konzertabende des Liedduos Knut Schoch und Carsten Linck, die vom Publikum wegen ihrer unmittelbaren Frische und Intensität stets begeistert aufgenommen werden. Die Programme beinhalten sowohl originale Kompositionen um 1800 als auch stilgerechte Bearbeitungen von Werken von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Franz Schubert, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy bis hin zu Johannes Brahms.

Ihre fesselnden Konzertauftritte, angereichert mit kurzen Informationen zum Werk und Komponisten, geben einen eindrücklichen Einblick in selten gehörtes, aber spannendes Repertoire. Zudem laden die Transkriptionen – etwa im Zyklus „Die schöne Müllerin“ von Franz Schubert – dazu ein, neue Sichtweisen in altbekannten Werken zu entdecken.

Carsten Linck spielt bei diesen Liederabenden auf einem Nachbau einer Gitarre von Johann Georg Staufer aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, die klanglich einem Hammerflügel aus der Zeit sehr ähnlich ist. Da die Gitarre im Stehen gespielt wird, kann in einer freien, erzählenden Art musiziert werden, was die Aufführung für das Publikum sehr lebendig werden lässt.

Knut Schoch (Tenor) studierte an der Musikhochschule Hamburg bei Wilfried Jochens und vervollkommnete seine Studien in diversen, so bei Jill Feldman, Ian Partrige, James Wagner und Hartmut Höll. Sein großes, breit gefächertes Repertoire spannt einen Bogen von Werken des Mittelalters bis zu Uraufführungen zeitgenössischer Musik. Besonderen Raum nehmen hier neben dem Bereich Oratorium auch die Kammermusik und die barocke und klassische Oper (C. Monteverdi: Orfeo; R. Keiser: Pomona, Andonis, Janus, Claudius; A. Campra: L‘europe galante; W. A. Mozart: Entführung, Zauberflöte, u.a.m.) ein.

Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit ist die Musik vor 1800 in Verbindung mit historisch orientierter Aufführungspraxis. So machte er sich einen Namen als Interpret der Kantaten und Oratorien von Bach (Evangelist), Händel und Zeitgenossen. Durch die wortbetonte Arbeit in diesem Genre ist er prädestiniert auch für die Arbeit am romantischen Lied, dem seine besondere Aufmerksamkeit und Liebe gilt: er arbeitet seit vielen Jahren mit dem Pianisten Johannes Debus im festen Liedduo an immer neuen Programmen von Beethoven bis Britten, spielte mit dem Gitarristen Carsten Linck Schuberts „Die schöne Müllerin“ ein oder stellte mit Eckart Begemann am Hammerflügel z. B. die bekannten Schubertzyklen vor.

Konzertreisen und Gastspiele bei internationalen Festivals wie etwa die Göttinger Händelfestspielen, Schleswigholstein-Festival, in München (Opernfestspiele) Settimane Bach/Milano, Flandern-Festival, Utrecht, Paris, Lyon, Kopenhagen, Folles Journées oder den Wiener Festwochen führten Knut Schoch durch ganz Europa sowie nach Amerika und Asien.

Zahlreiche Rundfunk- und Fernsehaufnahmen bei vielen europäischen und außereuropäischen Sendern belegen die große Künstlerische Bandbreite seiner Tätigkeit, die auch auf über 80 CD-Produktionen (u.a. bei Acanthus, Brillant Records, cpo, capriccio, Deutsche Harmonia Mundi, Naxos, Sony) dokumentiert ist. Preisträger war Knut Schoch u.a. 1999 beim renomierten internationalen Concours Musica Antiqua in Brügge/Belgien. Er arbeitete mit namhaften Dirigenten (wie z.B. Ivor Bolton, Thomas Hengelbrock, Konrad Junghänel, Ton Koopman, Sigiswald Kuijken, Gustav Leonhardt, Herman Max, Peter Neumann, Joshua Rifkin) zusammen.

Seit 1993 ist Knut Schoch Gesangsdozent am Hamburger Konservatorium und hatte von 1999-2002 eine Professur für Gesang an der Hamburger Musikhochschule.